Cycle 5 Flight Plans

The Cycle Plan is the baseline schedule approved by SOFIA senior management. These schedules are subject to change depending on budget and operational constraints. Details such as targets and exposure times for each flight series are finalized about a month before the beginning of the series.

The table below gives information about the Cycle 5 Flight Series. The flight plan tables for series that have been planned are available via the links, and they contain information about the flight legs including the targets being observed, and the total durations. Generally, the layout of observations is not expected to change in any major way, but since the posted plans are approved several weeks before the flight dates, the actual flight plan may differ from the posted ones in minor ways.

Cycle 5 Flight Series (posted March 7, 2017)

Flying on SOFIA: General Information

*During the re-planning of the fall 2017 schedule the OC5-M series ID was dropped to avoid planning confusion.

Name Instrument Date Number of flights Location
OC4-N and OC5-A GREAT Tuesday, January 31, 2017 (All day) to Thursday, February 16, 2017 (All day) 11 Palmdale
OC5-B FIFI-LS Friday, February 24, 2017 (All day) to Wednesday, March 08, 2017 (All day) 8 Palmdale
OC5-C EXES Tuesday, March 14, 2017 (All day) to Wednesday, March 22, 2017 (All day) 6 Palmdale
OC5-D FORCAST Tuesday, May 02, 2017 (All day) to Thursday, May 04, 2017 (All day) 3 Palmdale
OC5-E HAWC+ Tuesday, May 09, 2017 (All day) to Wednesday, May 17, 2017 (All day) 7 Palmdale
OC5-F EXES Tuesday, May 23, 2017 (All day) to Friday, May 26, 2017 (All day) 3 Palmdale
OC5-G GREAT Monday, June 05, 2017 (All day) to Wednesday, June 14, 2017 (All day) 7 Palmdale
OC5-H GREAT Monday, June 26, 2017 (All day) to Sunday, July 16, 2017 (All day) 12 Christchurch
OC5-I FIFI-LS Wednesday, July 26, 2017 (All day) to Saturday, July 29, 2017 (All day) 4 Christchurch
OC5-J FORCAST Wednesday, August 02, 2017 (All day) to Wednesday, August 09, 2017 (All day) 6 Christchurch
OC5-K FORCAST Tuesday, September 12, 2017 (All day) to Tuesday, September 26, 2017 (All day) 10 Palmdale
OC5-L FLIPO Monday, October 02, 2017 (All day) to Saturday, October 07, 2017 (All day) 4 Daytona Beach
OC5-N* HAWC+ Monday, October 16, 2017 (All day) to Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (All day) 18 Palmdale

Share This Page