Tele-Talks

SOFIA Community Forum (SCF) Tele-Talks are colloquia presented over the telephone, with slides distributed ahead of time. The talks are targeted broadly towards members of the astronomy community who are interested in SOFIA science and in the current and potential scientific capabilities of the observatory. The talks are held approximately once a month. The series is being organized by Dan Lester. For information on how to participate in the teletalks, please check the SOFIA Tele-Talk page.

If you would like to be on the mailing list for this telecon, please sign up for SOFIA announcements.

Future Tele-Talks (Wednesdays 9:00 am PT, provisional schedule) may be found on the Events page (sort by Tele-Talks)

Archive of talks from January 2012 onward may be found by clicking on the year in the sidebar on the Events page and then sorting by Tele-Talks.

Event Event Date Speaker Affiliation
Star Formation in the Galactic Center: SOFIA FIFI-LS observations of Sgr B1 Wednesday, January 30, 2019 - 9:00am PST Jan Simpson SETI Institute
Infrared Detection of CS in the Hot Core AFGL 2591 with SOFIA/EXES Wednesday, February 06, 2019 - 9:00am PST Andrew Barr Leiden University
The HIRMES Spectrometer: Science and Technical Details Wednesday, February 13, 2019 - 9:00am PST Gordon Stacey Cornell University
Can Supernovae Be an Important Source of Dust in the Interstellar Medium of Galaxies? Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 9:00am PST Mikako Matsuura Cardiff University
SOFIA Far-Infrared Imaging Polarimetry of M82 and NGC253: Exploring the Supergalactic Wind Wednesday, March 06, 2019 - 9:00am PST Terry Jones University of Minn
Velocity Profiles of [CII], [CI], CO and [OI] and Physical Conditions in Four Star-Forming Regions in the Large Magellanic Cloud Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Yoko Okada University of Cologne
The SOFIA Massive (SOMA) Star Formation Survey - Tests of Massive Star Formation Theories Wednesday, April 03, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Mengyao Liu University of Virginia
Abundant SO2 Gas in the Hot Core around MonR2 IRS3 Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Ryan Dungee University of Hawaii
SOFIA-FORCAST Survey Toward the Giant HII regions of the Galaxy Wednesday, May 01, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Wanggi Lim SOFIA Science Center
HAWC+ Observations of OMC-1 Wednesday, May 08, 2019 - 9:00am PDT David Chuss Villanova University
First Astrophysical Detection of the Helium Hydride Ion (HeH+) Wednesday, June 05, 2019 - 9:00am PDT David Neufeld Johns Hopkins University
Unraveling the Evolution of the Interstellar Medium and Star Formation in the M51 Grand-Design Spiral Galaxy with SOFIA Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Jorge Pineda JPL
D/H in Comet 46P/Wirtanen Wednesday, July 10, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Darius Lis Caltech
MidIR debris disk around BD+20 307 Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Maggie Thompson UCSC
Photometry of Extended Green Objects Wednesday, August 07, 2019 - 9:00am PDT Allison Towner University of Virgnia, NRAO

Share This Page